District of Colborne Fonds F620

G D2

Date of the items: December, 1841

Physical description: 1 60 x 90 cm Document, framed

Title: District of Colborne Fonds

Creator: District of Colborne

Repository: Trent Valley Archives

Reference number: TVA Fonds 620

Scope and contents: Letters patent for the creation of the justices of the peace for the District of Colborne, December 9th 1841, upon the completion of the courthouse in Peterborough. The letters lay out the duties of these justices and lists some of the types indictments they are to rule over, including assault, murder and lawmen who fail to perform their proper duties. It also suggests that men who have committed one of these indictments must either turn themselves in, be arrested by an officer of the law, or be outlawed. Punishment for those men who are not able to keep the peace is time in jail. The document includes the names of the Chief Justice, Vice Chancellor, Executive Council, the Legislative Council, and the Justices of the Peace of all local areas.

Access Conditions: No Restrictions

Finding aid: None available, but a full transcription of the document is available in a digital file on the T-drive, and can be accessed through in-house computers.

Accruals: No further accruals are expected

Custodial history: The document was framed by the Roy Studio. Judge J. de N. Kennedy presented the framed document to the Peterborough Law Association. When the court house was renovated, the document was given to Doug Vaisey whose son Bob Taylor-Vaisey donated it to the Trent Valley Archives. The document was transcribed in full by Trent Valley Archives staff.

Administrative history: The formation of the District of Colborne was announced in 1838, but due to delays in the building of the courthouse it was not officially formed until the date of this document, 1841 (although because the Justices involved did not meet until the following year, many people believe that it was formed in 1842). It was comprised of the north half of the old district of Newcastle. The District lasted until 1849 when districts were changed to counties. The old Colborne district was then divided into Peterborough, Victoria, and Haliburton counties.

Related fonds at TVA: There are several fonds at TVA relating to the District of Colborne, including F31 Colborne District Marriage Reports; F182 Newcastle and Colborne Districts and F537 Canadian Heritage Maps.

Access Points:
Peterborough County Court House
District of Colborne
District of Newcastle
Peterborough Law Association